Mental Health Champions for Refereeing

Mental Health Champions for Refereeing

There are 41 Mental Health Champions for Refereeing. Their role is to increase awareness around mental health within their Counties’ match officiating communities and to be a first point of contact for any match official who may want to discuss a mental health problem. With a couple of exceptions, the champions are not mental health professionals. They do though have the skills and knowledge to be able to offer initial support to any match official who contacts them and, if necessary, signpost them on to professional services.

If you would like to have an initial conversation, then please email one of the champions. Their details are below. You may wish to contact one of the champions from your County or one from a different County. The champion will then get in touch with you to arrange a convenient time to have a conversation.

For further information on the FA’s Mental Health Champion Scheme for Refereeing, please contact richard.glynne-jones@thefa.com

Name of Champion

County FA

Email

Graham Brookland

Army

Graham.brookland@armyfa.com

Jose Gomes

Bedfordshire

Jose.gomes@bedfordshirefa.com

Nick Phipps

Berks & Bucks

phippsnick@hotmail.com 

Chris Milburn

Birmingham

chrisrefchampion@virginmedia.com

Ceredig Cattanach-Chell

Cambridgeshire

ceredigc@hotmail.com

Jake Dods

Cambridgeshire

Jake.dods@outlook.com

Jonathan King

Cheshire

Jonathanking11@hotmail.com

Davey Green

Cornwall

dvygrn@aol.com

Geoff Ellison

Cumberland

Carolgeoff6255@yahoo.co.uk

Lee Farthing

Derbyshire

leefarthingreferee@gmail.com

Ben Goldsworthy

Devon

benrefchampion@gmail.com

Laura Summers

Durham

laurarefchampion@gmail.com

Adam Gordon

Essex

refstimetotalk@outlook.com

Gary Telling

Essex

garytelling@hotmail.com

Gerry Witcombe

Gloucestershire

Gerrywitcombe847@gmail.com

Mark Rogers

Guernsey

Mark_rogers@artexrisk.com

Phil Knight

Kent

knightpennington@aol.com

Jamie Goldthorp

Kent

Jamie.goldthrp@outlook.com

David Boston

Lancashire

dbmentalhealthchampion@outlook.com

Lucy Briggs

Lancashire

Lucyb95@btinternet.com

Emily Carney

Lancashire

emilyrefereechampion@outlook.com

Rahi Popat

Leicestershire

rahi_popat@hotmail.com 

Andy Waite

Lincolnshire

Andy.61waite@gmail.com

Gary Caley

Lincolnshire

Garytheref1@gmail.com

Gordon Johnson

Liverpool

gordonrefchampion@gmail.com

Tony Aslam 

London

tonyaslam@hotmail.com 

Rob Goodwin-Davey

Manchester

robrefmhchampion@gmail.com

Robert Was

Middlesex

RefereeMentalHealthchampion@middlesexfa.com

Callum Parke

Norfolk

callumparke@live.co.uk

Barry Casterton

North Riding

barryrefchampion@gmail.com

Alan Rose

North Riding

FAReferee-MHSupport@yorkshire.net

Tom Lishman

North Riding

tomlishman8@gmail.com

Darren McCall

Northumberland

darrenrefchampion@hotmail.com

Gavin Rice

Nottinghamshire

GavRiceRefMHC@hotmail.com

Natasha Wilson

Sheffield

natasharefchampion@outlook.com

Christopher Swiader

Suffolk

swiaderuk@gmail.com

Martin Etheridge

Surrey

etheridgemartin@aol.com

Darius Bradley

West Riding

dariusbradleyreferee@hotmail.com

Gareth Myers

West Riding

gmrefmhc@gmail.com

Sam Gooding

Wiltshire

Sam@goodingaccounts.co.uk

Mark Paris-Haines

Wiltshire

markparishaines@gmail.com

John Roskelly

Worcestershire

john.roskelly@googlemail.com

Anonymous